Indian Institute of Information Technology

Prof. Partha P. Chakrabarti, FNA, FASc, FNAE

Professor of CSE & Former Director
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

PARTHA PRATIM CHAKRABARTI completed his B.Tech in 1985 and PhD in 1988 from the Dept of Computer Science & Engg, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur. He joined the same department as a faculty member in 1988 and is currently a senior Professor. From July 2013 he was the Director of the IIT Kharagpur till June 30, 2019. He was the Professor-in-Charge of the state of the art VLSI Design Laboratory which he helped set up and has been the Dean of Sponsored Research and Industrial Consultancy at IIT Kharagpur and Head of the Advanced Technology Development Centre. He was also the co-Director of the strategic General Motors-IIT Kharagpur Collaborative Research Laboratory on Electronics, Controls and Software. He held additional charge as Director IIT Patna and IIIT Kalyani.

His areas of interest include Artificial Intelligence (AI), Algorithms, Formal Methods, CAD for VLSI & Embedded Systems and Fault Tolerance. Professor Chakrabarti has made fundamental scientific contributions in the area of Artificial Intelligence and Automated Reasoning and has applied the techniques to solve important synthesis, optimization and verification problems especially in VLSI Design and Embedded Systems. He has published two research monographs, more than 250 papers in international journals and conferences and supervised more than two dozen PhD students.

He has worked closely with Industry and Government and has successfully completed projects totaling worth more than several hundred crores with MHRD, DST, CSIR NMITLI, MeiTy, DHI, INSA, Volkswagen Foundation, Intel, Synopsys, Google. National Semiconductors, General Motors to name a few. He is the architect and overall coordinator of National Initiatives like the National Digital Library of India (, Global Initiative for Academic networks or GIAN (, SPARC (, IMPRINT, etc that are emerging as game changers in India’s higher education scenario.

Dr Chakrabarti received the President of India Gold Medal (1985), the INSA Young Scientist Award (1991), Anil K Bose Award (1995), INAE Young Engineers Award (1997) and the Swarnajayanti Fellowship (1997-98), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (2000), INAE Visweswarya Chair Professorship (2007-9), J.C. Bose Fellowship (2013) and many other awards. He has been elected a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi and the Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore, Indian National Academy of Engineering and the West Bengal Academy of Science & Technology. He received a DSc Honoris Causa from Kalyani University in 2018 for contributions to Science and Technology.